ICC Cricket World Cup All Winners list (1975 to 2015) History, Winners & Facts

By | April 13, 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup All Winners list: In India, Cricket world cup season is no less than a carnival. It is amazing to see the obsession we have towards this game and specifically towards this tournament. As the 12th edition of the tournament i.e. Cricket world cup 2019 is going to start in May this year which is just few months away. It would be the best time to revisit the list of cricket world cup winners over the history of the game.

ICC ODI World Cup All Winners list from 1975  to 2015

Here is the detailed cricket world cup win list from the year 1975 through the year 2015:

Year Winning Team Score Of Winners Runner-up Team Score of Runners Up result
1975 West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets

As you can see the cricket world cup winner list above Australia has claimed the world cup maximum number of times by winning it for five times in the years 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. Whereas, India has won the cup twice in the years 1983 and 2011 defeating West Indies and Sri Lanka respectively.

ICC World Cup All Winners List

Leveling the record of India is West Indies which has won the ICC world cup in 1975 and 1979. West Indies have won the first two world cups ever. Other Asian countries like Pakistan and Sri Lanka have been winners of the world cup once each time. Pakistan has won the world cup in 1992 by defeating England with 22 runs. Whereas, Sri Lanka has won the world cup in the year of 1996 where Sri Lanka defeated Australia where Lanka has won by 7 wickets.

Cricket world cup winner list can probably help us predict which team might be the winners of the cricket world cup 2019.

With ICC 2019 cricket world cup starting from May 30th 2019, Lets rewind a bit and look at the cricket world cup winner list and probably predict how the cricket world cup 2019 teams are going to perform

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Official Broadcasters TV Channels list & TV Rights

One thought on “ICC Cricket World Cup All Winners list (1975 to 2015) History, Winners & Facts

  1. Pingback: Who will win the 2019 Cricket World cup in England?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *